About us

About us

JIACO Instruments MIP decapsulation system is a breakthrough innovation:
Automated atmospheric pressure Microwave-Induced-Plasma (MIP) decapsulation utilizing only Oxygen and patent-pending Hydrogen-based recipes.

Application Range:

Dr. Jiaqi Tang

Dr. Jiaqi Tang received B.S. in materials science from Fudan University in 2007 and M.Sc. in materials science from University of Pennsylvania in 2009, where he was involved in research projects related to semiconductor devices.

From 2009 to 2014 he has been working towards his Ph.D. degree at Delft Institute of Microsystems and Nanoelectronics (DIMES), Delft University of Technology. His research activities focus on developing a Microwave Induced Plasma (MIP) instrument for copper wire bonded semiconductor package decapsulation application. During this period, intensive contacts were established with the semiconductor industry. The groundbreaking research jointly developed with industrial partners on the MIP technology has been presented at ECTC, ISTFA, EPTC, ICEPT conferences.

Since 2014, Jiaqi became the President and CTO of JIACO Instruments, the start-up company he co-founded to commercialize the MIP machine.

Prof. Dr. Kees Beenakker

Prof. Dr. Kees Beenakker got his M. Sc.in chemistry and physics at Leiden University and joined as a Ph. D. student the FOM-Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics in Amsterdam. After graduation in 1974 his professional career started at Philips Research Laboratories in Eindhoven. There he was involved in various research projects related to IC technology. In 1982 he took the position of head of the corporate assembly process and equipment development of the Philips Semiconductor Division. In that position intensive contacts were established with the global microelectronics industry.

In 1987 he resigned at Philips and became co-founder of Eurasem, a European hi-rel IC assembly company located in Nijmegen.

In 1989 Kees Beenakker joined Dimes and in 1990 he was appointed full professor at the faculty of EEMCS (Electrical Engineering, Mathematics and Computer Science) of Delft University of Technology. From 1990 till 2004 he was chairman of the ECTM laboratory. From 1999 till 2009 he was chairman of the department of Microelectronics and Computer Engineering and from March 2007 till May 2012 he was scientific director of DIMES, the Delft institute of microsystems and nanoelectronics. From May 2012 till his retirement in 2014 he was director of the TU Delft-Beijing Research Centre in Beijing. In 2014 he co-founded JIACO Instruments.

Kees Beenakker acted in many committees such as the national Medea advisory committee, the scientific board of the Debije Institute, the ENIAC scientific council. He is board member of the Advanced Packaging Centre at Boschman Technologies and member of the Dutch industrial innovation committee. He is a founder of the Else Kooi Foundation, the SAFE conference, the Tsing Hua-TU Delft training centre of microelectronics technology in Beijing and the Fudan-TU Delft International school of microelectronics in Shanghai. In 2006 he was appointed honorary guest professor at the Tsinghua University in Beijing and in 2012 guest professor at the Institute of Semiconductors of the Chinese Academy of Sciences in Beijing. IN 2008 he was elected chairman of the academic council of Point-One, the national initiative on nanoelectronics and embedded systems

Seeing is Believing

Contact us to test your samples with MIP

Request information